Making the Turn and the Back Nine
As you walk toward the 10th tee you quickly read a sign that has been conspicuously posted, “the back nine of the Short Course is extremely difficult and is only recommended for those with advanced knowledge of the Rules, and those willing to invest the time to get there.”
Question: Your ball and a practice ball from the nearby practice area are both at rest on the putting green. You putt, and your ball accidentally hits the practice ball on the putting green. What is the ruling in stroke play?
(a) There is no penalty and you must play your ball as it lies.
(b) There is no penalty. Your stroke does not count and the original ball or another must be replaced on its original spot.
(c) You get two penalty strokes and must play the ball as it lies.
(d) You get two penalty strokes. Your stroke does not count and the original ball or another must be replaced on its original spot.
CORRECT ANSWER: B
Hole 10 “welcomes” you to the back nine. There’s a tremendous amount going on in this question and it requires that you correctly apply both Rule 11.1a and Rule 11.1b, including both of their Exceptions. As mentioned in Hole 4, both parts of Rule 11.1 always apply to accidental deflections.
Starting with Rule 11.1a, you must determine if this is a penalty situation. While the Exception to Rule 11.1a might appear to apply, the Exception applies only in stroke play when the player’s ball in play hits another player’s ball that is in play. The practice ball from the nearby practice area is not a ball in play, which means there is no penalty.
We’ll explore one of the Rule’s deepest “rabbit holes” in another round, when we look at the different statuses the ball can have. But, for now, there’s already another group on the 10th tee and we don’t want to unreasonably delay play).
Next, you need to determine the correct procedure for where to play from (Rule 11.1b). You already know the practice ball is not a ball in play, but did you pick up on the fact that it is a movable obstruction?
10 号洞”欢迎 “你来到后九。这道题千头万绪，需要你正确应用规则11.1a和规则11.1b，包括它们的例外。正如在第4洞中提到的，规则11.1的两个部分始终适用于意外变向。
Question: In which one of the following do you not get a penalty for lifting the branch while a ball is in motion?
(a) You lift a branch to prevent the ball from hitting it, but the ball stops short of where the branch had been at rest.
(b) You lift a branch to prevent the ball from hitting it and the ball rolls over the spot where the branch had been at rest.
(c) In preparing to make your next stroke, you lift a branch so it’s not on your line of play. Another player’s ball rolls over the spot where the branch had been at rest.
CORRECT ANSWER: C
Hole 11 revisits the concept you saw on a few front nine holes (Holes 1, 6 and 8). Unlike Rule 11.2, Rule 11.3 is not an outcome-based Rule. Rather, it prohibits specific deliberate actions only and does not consider whether the action was successful.
As a reminder, it prohibits you from moving objects out of the way to affect where a ball in motion might come to rest.
In Rule 11.3, which prohibits lifting or moving objects out of the way of a moving ball, it would be very problematic to determine whether a breach has occurred based on whether your deliberate actions actually had an effect on where your ball in motion came to rest.
Compare this to Rule 11.2, which again is about putting objects or yourself in the way, where a simple determination can be made。
Further, there’s another principle in the Rules as it relates to why penalties exist in the first place – the penalty for breaching a particular Rule is set to offset any potential advantage you might gain by breaching that Rule. In Rule 11.2, we can easily determine whether you gained an advantage, and a penalty therefore only applies if you do. Because that’s not something that can be determined with confidence in Rule 11.3, the penalty applies based solely on you taking the deliberate actions prohibited by the Rule.
All of that means, both options A and B result in a penalty because you moved the branch to prevent the ball from hitting it – any further information is superfluous. In option C, you moved the branch to prepare for your play, which is allowed under Rule 15.1a (Removal of Loose Impediment). And, because you did not move it to deliberately affect where your ball in motion might come to rest, Rule 11.3 does not apply to you.
11.2结果为本——如果“移入”之后没有发生碰撞，那么球走了其自然路径，球员没有获得额外的利益，这样规则就无需作进一步的处理，也就是“没有犯规就没有伤害”（英谚 no harm no foul)。
11.3动机为本—— 由于是将物件“移走”，证物在球的路径范围消失了，球会不会撞上这个物件的答案就成为了没有实锤的悬案，判断球手有没有获得潜在利益变得非常“棘手” 。故此规则认为这样的情况下就不宜从结果的角度去执行，反而从动机的角度去执行可以较好地保持一致性。
Question: True or False: You make a stroke from a deep greenside bunker to an elevated green. Although you can no longer see your ball, you assume it came to rest on the putting green. However, while retrieving a rake from just outside the bunker, your ball starts to roll back toward you. Another player alerts you to this and, to prevent the ball from rolling back into the bunker, you place the rake down on the ground in the path of the ball. The ball bounces over the rake without hitting it, and comes to rest back in the bunker. You get the general penalty for putting the rake down on the ground to try to deflect or stop your ball in motion.
CORRECT ANSWER: B
You now need switch mindsets to apply the standard of deliberate deflections in Rule 11.2, where it’s practical to apply a penalty based on the outcome of that deliberate action. As you learn more about the Rules, you’ll continue to grow more comfortable identifying which Rule applies, and a big part of correctly doing this is being able to recognize the differences and similarities between them.
With that foundation, you should see that the deliberate action you’ve taken here on Hole 12 is closest to that which is prohibited under Rule 11.2. But, while you did place the rake to deflect your ball, hoping it would not roll back into the bunker, Rule 11.2 only applies if you are successful in doing so. Since the ball did not strike the rake, Rule 11.2 doesn’t apply. Good luck getting your next stroke out of the bunker.
Question: In playing from above the hole on a steeply sloped putting green, you hit your putt a little too hard. The ball misses the hole, rolls down the slope and then off the green. The ball bounces off a turtle and comes to rest in the rough. You make the next stroke from where the ball came to rest after the deflection. The original stroke was made 30 feet from the hole, and the stroke after the deflection is made 20 feet from the hole. What is the ruling in stroke play?
(a) You proceeded correctly and get no penalty.
(b) You get two penalty strokes and must continue with the ball that was played 20 feet from the hole.
(c) You get two penalty strokes and, because you should have replayed the stroke, you must make the next stroke from the spot of the original stroke (30 feet from the hole).
CORRECT ANSWER: A
You’ve left your approach shot in a less than ideal position and, try as you might, you’ve putted clean off the green. It’s clear this deflection was an accident under Rule 11.1a, so there’s no penalty to you.
But, navigating Rule 11.1b and its various Exceptions is the complexity of the hole. Exception 2 to Rule 11.1b applies when you play a ball from the putting green and accidentally hit any animal (as well as some other things) that are on the putting green. You must trust the words as written and apply them accordingly – easier said than done.
Question: Your tee shot comes to rest in the pocket of a spectator standing in the general area. Which one of the following is false?
(a) When taking relief, you may drop the original ball or another ball.
(b) The reference point is the point right under where your ball first came to rest in the spectator’s pocket.
(c) You must drop a ball as near as possible to the reference point, but not nearer the hole.
(d) Your relief area is limited to the general area.
CORRECT ANSWER: C
As with all games, their respective Rules need to tell players what to do. Hole 14 reminds us why the Rules of Golf can’t fit onto a notecard or into a brochure – that little white ball can come to rest in some pretty unusual places.
This is our first look at applying Exception 1 to Rule 11.1b. A fundamental principle of golf is that you play the ball as it lies, and while that works most of the time, it doesn’t provide you any help here. In this situation (and anytime your ball comes to rest in or on a person), you are not allowed to play your ball as it lies and must take relief according to the Rule.
The 2019 Rules never require you to drop a ball on a specific spot (that’s another rare absolute) – dropping will always involve a relief area. That quickly points to option C as the false (and therefore the correct) answer.
The rest all come from a quick read through the relief procedure in Exception 1 to Rule 11.1b and the dropping Rule, Rule 14.3. You’ll see that the three other options are all part of how you take relief in this situation.
- When taking lateral relief from a red penalty area or
- When you take lateral relief for an unplayable ball.
Question: Which one of the following statements is true about Rule 11.3 (Deliberately Moving Objects or Altering Conditions to Affect Ball in Motion)?
(a) You get a penalty under Rule 11.3 only when the movement of a ball is affected by your prohibited deliberate action。
(b) You get a penalty under Rule 11.3 if you take a prohibited deliberate action to affect a ball in motion.
(c) Rule 11.3 does not apply if your prohibited deliberate action is taken when a ball starts rolling on its own and not as the result of a stroke.
CORRECT ANSWER: B
The ease of this hole rests on your understanding of Rule 11.3. As referenced on previous holes, this Rule is concerned only about your deliberate action to affect where a ball in motion might come to rest, and its application does not depend on whether your action was successful. If that’s clear to you, option B should jump out as the right answer.
Option C might look correct, but if you look to the very beginning of Rule 11 (right after the purpose statement), you’ll see that Rule 11 applies anytime a ball is in motion (whether after a stroke or otherwise). You’ll also see there that there is one time when you wouldn’t use this Rule if a ball in play was deflected or stopped, and that is when you are dropping a ball to take relief, in which case you would use Rule 14.3 (Dropping Ball in a Relief Area).
（c） 如果你的被禁止的故意行为是在球自己开始滚动时，而不是在击球后， 则规则11.3不适用。
Question: Which one of the following scenarios results in you or another player getting a general penalty under Rule 11?
(a) While reading your line of play on the putting green, you place some clubs beyond the hole. Another player informs you that those clubs are in a position to stop your ball from going into an adjacent penalty area if hit too hard. Although you acknowledge that this could happen, you leave your clubs there anyway and make your next stroke. Your ball does end up rolling past the hole, bounces off one of your clubs, and comes to rest in the penalty area.
(b) In determining how to play a downhill putt, you notice the preceding group left a bunker rake in a position just off the green and next to a bunker. Even though you can see this might stop your ball from going into that bunker, you decide to leave it in that position. You make the stroke and your ball is stopped by the rake, likely preventing it from ending up in the bunker.
(c) You place your bag on the opposite side of the green in the rough, and just short of a penalty area. Before playing a chip shot from just off the putting green, you notice that your bag is in a position that could stop your ball from going into that penalty area if you hit it too hard. You make the stroke without moving your bag and, while your ball is in motion, your opponent moves your bag out of the way and your ball comes to rest in the penalty area.
CORRECT ANSWER: A
Is placing an object for the purpose of deflecting a ball the same as realizing an object you placed might deflect your ball before making a stroke? What about seeing an object left by someone else might help you? Hole 16 requires that you untangle this web.
This is the first time we’ve had to dip into the Interpretations for some additional guidance to better understand what deliberately deflected or stopped means in Rule 11.2 – Interpretation 11.2a/1 provides that guidance and clarifies that if you realize before making a stroke that an object you positioned may deflect or stop the ball, Rule 11.2a will apply if your ball then hits it. That fits the fact set of Option A.
We can dig a little deeper here into the other two options, both of which would not result in a penalty under Rule 11.
A fundamental principle of the game is playing the course as you find it, and this is what happens in Option B. You’ve simply left an object placed by someone else, and by doing so you are playing the course as you found it.
Lastly, Option C requires an understanding of Rule 11.2 (for you) and Rule 11.3 (for your opponent). As it relates to you, remember that Rule 11.2 requires your devious act to succeed, but your opponent has “foiled” your plan so that your ball will end up in the penalty area (perhaps unknowingly saving you the general penalty in the process … if you’re wondering … yes, we get calls like this on occasion too!)
As it relates to the opponent’s actions, Rule 11.3 prohibits most objects from being deliberately moved out of the way, but you’ll recall from Holes 1 and 6 that there are few items that can be moved, and any player equipment is included in these items.
最后，选项C要求理解规则11.2（对你而言）和规则11.3（对你的对手而言）。对你而言，请记住规则11.2要求你的狡猾行为成功，但你的对手已经 “挫败 “了你的计划，所以你的球将最终进入到罚杆区（也许在这个过程中你不知不觉地规避了一般性处罚……如果你好奇想知道……是的，我们偶尔也会接到这样的电话！）。
Question: You make a stroke and your ball in motion is stopped or deflected. It is estimated that your ball would have come to rest in the hole had it not been deflected. In which one of the following scenarios are you considered to have holed out?
(a) Your stroke from the putting green is in motion and inches from the hole when your opponent, who was not aware you had played, walks across your line and accidentally deflects it.
(b) You and your partner hit good approach shots to the putting green and both have a chance at birdie; yours is from 30 feet and your partner’s is from inside three feet. You make your stroke and while the ball is in motion and inches from the hole, your partner, who is confident of making birdie as well, jokingly stops your ball just before it begins to fall into the hole.
(c) In stroke play, you make a stroke from the putting green at about the same time as another player in your group chips from the fringe. Your ball is on line with and just short of the hole when the other player’s ball strikes yours. The other player’s ball ends up in the hole and yours is deflected and comes to rest a few feet away.
(d) In stroke play, your stroke from the rough just off the putting green is in motion on the putting green and headed directly toward the hole when it is deliberately deflected by another player.
CORRECT ANSWER: D
With Hole 17, if you “got it” right away, you already knew the only possible correct answer as soon as you finished reading the question. It was just a matter of finding it amongst the four options.
Hole 9 was a similar situation, where your ball was deliberately deflected and you played your next stroke based on the location from where the ball was estimated to have come to rest (although on Hole 9 you took relief from the red penalty area instead, just before you asked if you could have another caddie at the turn).
For both Hole 9, and here on Hole 17, you need to look to Rule 11.2c to find the correct answer.
The only time we use this unusual procedure in the Rules (that is, estimating where the ball would have come to rest if not deflected or stopped) is when a deliberate deflection has occurred and your stroke was made from anywhere other than the putting green.
In Option A, the deflection is accidental so you can immediately eliminate that as a correct answer. This is covered under Exception 2 to Rule 11.1b, which tells you to play again from the same spot, and without penalty.
Further, in Options B and C, because your stroke was played from the putting green and there was a deliberate deflection, Rule 11.2c requires that you take relief – your stroke does not count and you’ll need to play again from where you just played.
That leaves only Option D. In looking at the fact set, you made a stroke from off the putting green, your ball was deliberately deflected while it is in motion and it is estimated that the ball would have come to rest in the hole.
While some will look to Rule 11.2c and ask where it states that the ball is holed … don’t worry, you’re not missing anything as it clearly does not. But, through exclusion of the first three answers, Option D is the only possible answer based on the what is both fair and consistent with how similar situations are treated under the Rules.
You may also be interested to know that there were a number of early drafts that included this outcome. But it was ultimately decided it would be best to remove this, and other similarly rare occurrences, to better the overall scope of the 2019 Rules.
Question: In which one of the following do you not get a penalty under Rule 11?
(a) After playing from a greenside bunker, you are raking the sand and see another player in your group chip from the other side of the putting green. Although that ball is coming toward you and the bunker, you don’t think it is traveling fast enough to get to the bunker, so you finish raking. To your surprise, the ball does end up in the bunker and comes to rest in the area that you had just raked.
(b) You have a divot in your hand that you are going to replace when you see another player’s ball coming toward the divot hole, so you quickly replace the divot to make sure the player won’t get a bad lie.
(c) Your chip shot up a steep slope stops just short of the top of the slope and starts rolling back toward you, and you remove the loose divot that you just made to prevent the ball from coming to rest against it.
CORRECT ANSWER: A
Hole 18 reminds you that there is more to Rule 11.3 than moving a loose impediment or movable obstruction to affect where your ball might come to rest – a lot more! It also applies to deliberately altering physical conditions by taking any of the actions listed in Rule 8.1a (such as what is described in Option B where you replace a divot in a divot hole).
While the questions so far have focused almost exclusively on you taking actions as it relates to your own ball in motion, Rule 11.3 can also apply to deliberate actions you take to any other player’s ball in motion.
In reading through the options, Option A should stand out from the others because your actions were not to deliberately affect where the other player’s ball in motion might come to rest. Not only did you expect the ball to stop short, the inadvertent nature of your actions was further reinforced in that you were surprised the ball came to rest in the area you had just raked. Therefore, there’s no penalty in that situation, while you earned yourself a general penalty in both Options B and C.