Short Course R3 F9

The Practice Area: Introduction to Ball at Rest Lifted or Moved 

The game of golf is a series of strokes on each hole starting from the teeing area and concluding when the ball is at rest in the bottom of the hole. Generally, the ball must be played as it lies after each stroke and may not be touched until the hole is completed. Sounds simple right? If only the game and its Rules were that simple! 

Richard S. Tufts spoke to this in his 2nd great principle behind the Rules, which reads, “you put your ball in play at the start of the hole, play only your own ball and do not touch it until you lift it from the hole.” 

You can learn more about the principles that form the foundation to the Rules of Golf in his classic writing, The Principles Behind the Rules of Golf, which the USGA rules team is currently in the final stages of revising to match the modernized Rules of Golf and hopes to have available in early 2021. 

It’s this simple concept we’ll explore in the third round of The Short Course, primarily focusing on Rule 9. Keeping this principle in mind, you are generally expected to exercise caution around your ball in play, as well as your opponent’s ball in match play. And, if you cause your ball to move, you’ll almost always be required to replace it. We’ll see this theme repeat throughout this round. You’ll also learn about a number of exceptions that, though you still need to replace your ball before playing, will allow you to do so with getting a penalty stoke. 

As you continue warming up, let’s move your attention away from that bucket of range balls for a moment. If you’ve played The Short Course before, you’ve likely heard us stress the importance of understanding the definitions in the Rules of Golf. The definition of “move” is perhaps the best example to offer up on this point. The Rules define a ball as having moved only when it leaves its original spot and comes to rest anywhere else (noting, that move could be vertically upwards or downwards or horizontal movement). 

This also means that when the ball returns to its original spot, it has not moved. You’ve likely seen this during your own play, such as accidentally bumping your ball on the putting green and having it rock forward and then back, or when addressing your ball in the rough and your club compresses the grass at address and your ball drops slightly but rises back up to its original position when you remove your club. In both of these situations, while you might see your ball “move,” the Rules do not treat such as a ball as having “moved” because it did not come to rest in another spot. 

Further, “moved” also includes an additional standard referred to as the naked eye standard, which can be summarized to mean that if a person with normal vision couldn’t have seen the ball move, it didn’t move. This is further explained in Interpretation Moved/2 and creates a buffer to protect golfers, who are limited in what they can see, from the constant advances in technology, especially as it relates to high-definition video. 

Regrettably we didn’t include any questions on the naked eye standard in this round of the Short Course, but there was a great example during the PGA TOUR’s Memorial Tournament when the ball of Jon Rahm moved shortly before he made a stroke that provided a great example of how this standard can apply in the field (you can read more about this incident here). 

Back to your warmup, there’s two key questions that have to be answered when dealing with a ball at rest moved situation. The first is whether the ball moved. And the second is whether that movement was known or virtual certainty to have occurred. 

Knowledge or virtual certainty (sometimes called KVC by us Rules geeks) is another key definition, used in several places in the Rules, including twice in this topic. It is frequently misunderstood, and therefore often misapplied by golfers. Known of virtually certain is a very high standard for deciding what happened to a player’s ball such that there is either conclusive evidence that the event in question happened (like a witness saw it happen) or by using all readily available information, there is 95% certainty that is occurred. Knowledge or virtual certainty is not assuming or guessing what happened to the ball. In fact, it’s very much the opposite – it’s that there is little to no doubt what happened to the player’s ball. 

If you do have knowledge or virtual certainty that your ball moved, the next question is what caused the ball to move? Here the Rules recognize only four possibilities (natural forces, you (the player), your opponent in match play, or an outside influence), and in the Short Course, your job will often be figure out from the facts what or who caused it to move. The answer to that will directly you to a specific sub-Rule in Rule 9 that tells you how to proceed, and whether there is a penalty. 

In order to treat a ball as having been moved by the player, an opponent or outside influence, it must be known or virtually certain that was the cause (with one exception you’ll be sure to encounter on the Short Course). Otherwise, the Rules default to natural forces. 

Hopefully, you’ve taken in the definitions and concepts covered during your practice sessions and can reinforce that knowledge on the front nine. You’re likely to need it all once you make the turn. Good luck and play well, your group is on next on the tee. 

高尔夫运动是每个洞从发球区开始,通过一系列的击球,到球静止在洞底为止。一般来说,每一次击球后,球都必须在其现有的位置上继续打并且不能触碰,直到完成一洞。听起来很简单吧?如果游戏及其规则也这么简单就好了! 

理查德-S-塔夫斯(Richard S. Tufts)在规则背后的第2大原则中就谈到了这一点,他写道:你在一洞开始的时候把你的球置于比赛状态中,你只打你自己的球同时不要触碰它,直到你从洞内将它拿起来。 

你可以在他的经典著作《高尔夫规则背后的原则》中了解更多关于构成高尔夫规则基础的原则,目前USGA规则团队正在对该书进行最后的修订,以配合现代化的《高尔夫规则》,并希望能在2021年初推出。(希望归希望,5月了还是没有出来。–译者注) 

我们将在第三轮短杆球场中探讨的就是这个简单的概念,主要关注规则9。牢记这个原则:一般来说,你在你的比赛状态球周围都要小心翼翼,在比洞赛中围着对手的比赛状态球也一样。而且,如果你导致了你的球移动,你几乎总是被要求将它放回原位。我们会看到这个主题在本轮Short Course中反复出现。你还会了解到一些例外情况,那就是,虽然你仍需在击球前将球放回原位,但这只会在你被罚了一杆的情况下才可以。 

当你继续热身的时候,让我们暂时把你的注意力从那一练习球上移开。如果以前玩过USGA的短杆球场(Short Course),可能听过我们强调理解高尔夫规则中定义的重要性。”移动 “的定义也许是最好的例子。规则中定义,只有当球离开原地,停在其他任何地方时,才算移动(注意,这种移动可以是垂直向上或向下,也可以是水平移动)。 

这也意味着,当球回到原点时,它没有移动。可能在自己的比赛中看到过这种情况,比如在推杆果岭上不小心到了球,球向前晃了晃,然后又向后晃了回来;又或者在长草里准备击球时,的球杆压住了草,的球稍稍下坠,但当移开球杆时,球又升回到原来的位置。在这两种情况下,虽然你可能会看到你的球 “移动”,但规则并不将这视为球的 “移动”,因为它并没有停在了另一个地方。 

此外,”移动 “还包括一个额外的标准,称为肉眼标准,可以概括为如果一个人以正常的视力不可能看到球移动,(那么)它就没有移动。这一点在释义Moved/2中做了进一步的解释并建立了一个缓冲:(就是说)球手的责任只限于他们所能见到的。以此保护球手免受不断进步的科技—— 尤其是与高清视频带来的相关影响 

遗憾的是,我们没有在这一轮短杆赛中加入任何关于肉眼标准的问题,但是在PGA巡回赛的纪念赛期间,有一个很好的例子,Jon Rahm的球在他击球前不久移动了,这提供了一个很好的例子,说明这个标准如何在球场上适用(你可以在这里阅读更多关于这个事件的信息)。 

回到你的赛前热身,在处理静止状态下的球移动情况时,有两个关键问题必须要回答。第一个是球是否移动了第二个是那个移动是知道或几乎肯定发生了 

知道或几乎肯定(我们这些规则极客有时称之为KVC)是另一个关键的定义,在规则中多处使用,包括本主题中的两次。它经常被误解,因此经常被球手误用。知道或几乎肯定是一个很高的标准,用来决定球员的球发生了什么—— 要么是有确凿的证据表明有关事件发生了(比如目击者看到了),要么是利用所有现成可用的信息,有95%确定发生了。知道或几乎肯定不是假设或猜测球发生了什么事实上,它是非常相反的——是对球员的球发生了什么只有一点点或完全没有怀疑。 

如果确实知道或几乎肯定的球移动了,下一个问题是什么导致了球的移动?规则里只承认四种可能性(自然力,你(选手),比洞赛中你的对手,或外部因素),而在短杆赛中,你的工作往往是从事实中找出是什么或谁导致它移动。得出的答案将直接将你带到规则9中的其中一个具体的子规则,告诉你如何处理,以及是否有处罚。 

为了将一个球视为被球员、对手或外部因素造成的移动,必须知道或几乎可肯定是由球员、对手或外部因素造成的(有一个例外,你在短杆球场里一定会遇到的)。否则,规则默认为自然力。 

希望已经在练习环节中搞定了所涉及的定义和概念,并能在前九洞强化这些知识。一旦你转场,你很可能会需要这里全部的知识。祝好运,打好球,下一组开球的就是你们组了。 

Hole 1

Question: Believing that your ball lies on the putting green, you mark its spot and lift the ball. You then realize that the ball was not on the putting green. What is the ruling? 

(a) There is no penalty and the ball must be replaced. 
(b) There is no penalty so long as you did not clean the lifted ball and the ball must be replaced. 
(c) You get one penalty stroke and the ball must be replaced. 
(d) You get two penalty strokes in stroke play and the ball must be replaced. 

CORRECT ANSWER: C 

There’s little question here as to what caused the ball to move (you). It’s what happens next that you’ll need to know. When your ball comes to rest on the putting green, you can always mark and lift your ball. But that doesn’t apply if you mistakenly think your ball is on the putting green. Operating in Rule 9.4, you’ll get one penalty stroke and must replace the ball. 

Throughout this Round, you’ll see a lot of references to Rule 14. Rule 14 can be thought of as the “how to” section in the Rules – it provides the procedures for you interactions with a ball. In Rule 9, marking, lifting, placing and replacing is used repeatedly, so we’ll regularly reference those procedures. As an example, when you see “replace,” Rule 14.2 is where you’ll find out how to do that in accordance with the Rules. If you’re using the USGA Rules of Golf App, you can just click the link, or if you’re using the published book, Rule 14 is a good one to bookmark. 

Hole 1 

问题:(因为)你相信你的球在果岭上所以你标记了球并拿起了。然后你意识到球其实不在果岭上,判定是什么? 

(a) 没有处罚,球必须放回原位 

(b) 只要你沒有把拿起的擦拭干净就不会被处罚,拿起的球必须放回原位 

(c) 你被罚一杆,该球必须放回原位。 

(d) 在比杆赛中你被罚两杆,该球必须放回原位。 

正确答案 c 

由于知道了是什么(你!)导致了球的移动这里没有什么大问题你需要知道的是接下来会发生什么。当你的球位于果岭上时,你可以随时标记并起你的球。但如果你误以为你的球位于果岭上,那(条规则)就不适用了。依照规则9.4操作,你会被罚一杆,球必须放回原位 

在本轮比赛中,你会看到很多关于规则14的内容。规则14可以被认为是规则中的 “怎么做 “部分–它规定了你与球互动的程序。在规则9中,标记、拿起、放置和重置(*放置回原位)被反复使用,所以我们会经常参考这些程序。例如,当你看到 “放置回原位”时,你会发现14.2是指导你根据规则要怎么做的地方。如果你使用的是USGA高尔夫规则APP,你可以直接点击链接,如果你使用的是规则书,规则14值得做个书签标记一下 

Hole 2 

Question: In which one of the following situations do you not get a penalty? 

(a) When attempting to mark the spot of your ball on the putting green, you drop your ball-marker on the ball, causing it to move. 
(b) You lift your ball from the putting green but forget to mark its spot first. 
(c) In preparing to make a stroke at your ball in the fairway, you accidentally move it with your clubhead. 
(d) While your ball lies in the general area, you deliberately touch it with your club, but it doesn’t move. 

CORRECT ANSWER: A 

Careful reading is needed to pick up on the many subtle differences this question is posing. If you can see them all, you’ll have seen you avoid the one penalty stroke under Rule 9.4b (Penalty for Lifting or Deliberately Touching Ball or Causing it Move) for only one of these actions. Either Exception 3 or 4 to Rule 9.4b will free you from a penalty in Option A. The putting green is a special place with many additional rights and privileges that you don’t have elsewhere on the course, including not getting a penalty for accidentally causing the ball to move. 

Exception 4 to Rule 9.4b will be frequently referenced in the round and allows you to proceed and apply the Rules knowing that accidentally causing your ball to move will not cost you a stroke. 

What about the other three choices? 

Option B at first glance seems to fall under Exception 3 for accidental movement on the putting green, but what is the accident here? Lifting the ball or forgetting to mark its position before doing so? It was no accident that your ball was moved, and failing to mark the spot, even if accidentally or out of forgetfulness will cost you a penalty stroke. 

Option C is a textbook example of accidentally causing your ball to move by failing to exercise enough caution, noting as well that your ball is not on the putting green so you can’t take advantage of Exception 3. 

In Option D, while you didn’t cause the ball to move, you did deliberately touch the ball in play, and this breaches the basic principle of not touching or moving the ball until the hole is completed, and is clearly prohibited by the open statement of Rule 9.4b. 

Hole 2 

问题: 下列哪种情况下,你不会受到处罚? 

(a)当你试图在推杆果岭上标记你的球位时,你的球标掉在球上,导致球移动了 

(b)你从果岭上拿起你的球,但忘了先标记它的位置。 

(c) 在球道上准备击球时,你的杆头不小心导致了球移动 

(d)当你的球位于普通区域时,你故意用球杆触碰它,但它没有移动。  

正确答案a

这个问题所提出的许多微妙的差异需要仔细阅读才能发现。如果你能全部看出来,你就会看到你其中只有一个动作避免了规则9.4b(拿起或故意触碰球,或导致球移动的处罚)下的罚一杆。无论是规则9.4b的例外3或4,都可以在选项A下令你免于处罚。 果岭是一个特殊的地方,有许多你在球场其他地方所没有的额外权利和特权,包括不会因为意外导致球移动而被处罚。 

规则9.4b的例外4在本轮比赛中会经常被引用,它让你知道应用规则时意外导致球移动不会让你付出一杆,从而可以放手进行处理。 

那其他三个选项呢? 

选项B乍一看,似乎属于例外3:在果岭上的意外移动。但这里的意外是什么?是拿起球还是在拿起球之前忘记标定球位?你的球被移动并不是意外,没有标记球位——即使是意外或出于遗忘,也会让你付出一杆的代价。 

选项C是一个教科书式的例子:于由没有足够的谨慎而意外地导致你的球移动,同时也注意到你的球不在推杆果岭上,所以你不能利用例外3。  

在选项D中,虽然你没有导致球移动,但是你确实故意触碰了正在打的球,这就违反了在该洞完成之前不得触碰或移动球的基本原则,并且很明显这是规则9.4b的公开声明所禁止的。 

Hole 3 

Question: Your approach shot comes to rest on the putting green, 15 feet from the hole. Another player’s approach shot then hits and moves your ball to a spot 20 feet from the hole and you see this happen. The other player plays from where his ball came to rest, and you also play your ball from where it came to rest (20 feet from the hole). What is the ruling? 

(a) You proceeded correctly and get no penalty. 
(b) You get one penalty stroke in both match play and stroke play. 
(c) In match play you lose the hole, and in stroke play you get two penalty strokes. 
(d) In stroke play, you get two penalty strokes and must play from the original spot before starting play of the next hole. If not, you are disqualified. 

CORRECT ANSWER: C 
 
If you played Round 2 of the Short Course (where we covered Ball in Motion Stopped or Deflected), you should know that the other player will play his or her ball from where it came to rest, without penalty. But enough about the other player, this question is about YOU. 

Your ball at rest was moved by another ball, and that other ball in motion is an outside influence. Once again, the Rules require you to replace your ball when it has been moved. 

If you had replaced it before playing, because it was moved by an outside influence, there would not have been a penalty. However, by playing from where the ball came to rest, you breached Rule 9.6 and played from a wrong place. That earns you a general penalty, and in this case, since you didn’t get a significant advantage by playing from the wrong place, you don’t have to correct the mistake – just play on and make your way to Hole 4. 

Hole 3 

问题:你上果岭的一杆让球静止在果岭上离球洞15英尺。然后你看着另一位球手打上果岭的球撞到并移动了你的球,使你的球到了离球洞20英尺的地方。那位球手从他的球静止的地方继续打,你也从你的球静止的地方(离球洞20英尺处)继续打。判定是什么? 

(a) 你处理正确,没有处罚 

(b) 在比洞赛和比杆赛中,你都被罚一杆。 

(c) 在比洞赛中你输了这个洞在比杆赛中你被罚两杆 

(d) 在比杆赛中,你被罚两杆,在下一洞开球之前你必须回到初始位置打球否则你被取消资格 

正确答案c 

如果你参加了短杆赛的第二轮比赛(在那里我们介绍了运动中的球被截停或变向),你应该知道,另一位球手将从球静止的地方打球,没有处罚。关于另一位球手的问题已经处理好了但这个问题是关于你的。 

你的球在静止状态下被另一个球移动了,而这一个运动中的球是一个外部因素。再一次,球被移动后规则要求你将它放置回原位。 

如果你在击球前已经把球放置回原位由于它是被外部因素移动的,那就不会有处罚。但是,你是从球静止的地方打的,违反了规则9.6,从错误的地方打球,那就导致了你得到了一般性处罚。在你的案例中,由于你从错误的地方打球并没有获得明显的利益,你不必纠正错误–只需继续打球,然后去4号洞。 

Hole 4 

Question: True or False: When your ball has been moved and you are required to replace it on its original spot, you get a penalty if you lift it from the new location without first marking its spot. 

(a) True 
(b) False 

CORRECT ANSWER: B 
 
As mentioned on Hole 1, it’s impossible to get through this round without referencing Rule 14. Rule 14.1a has the routine required for marking the spot of the ball, but that routine is only required when the ball is going back on the spot that you lifted it from. In this case, you are lifting the ball from “spot B” to replace it on “spot A” (the original spot the ball was moved from) so there’s no requirement to mark the ball before doing so. Get the ball back on the right spot and play on. 

问题:正确或错误: 当你的球被移动后,你必须把它放置回原位并且把这个球从被移动后的新位置拿起来的时候必须先标定球位否则罚一杆 

(a) 正确 

(b) 错误 

正确答案:B 

正如在1号洞中提到的,如果不参照规则14是不可能打完这一轮的。规则14.1a有标记球位的例行要求,但是这个惯例只是在你的球被要求放置回你拿起球的那一点才需要这样做在本题的案例中你从“B点”拿起的球要放回到“A点”也就是球被移动前的初始位置),所以拿起球之前并没有做标记的需求。把球放回正确的位置去,然后继续比赛。 

Hole 5 

Question: In Four-Ball, you see a ball in the general area that you believe to be a stray ball. You lift that ball and then realize it is your partner’s ball. What is the ruling? 

(a) There is no penalty to you or your partner and the ball must be replaced. 
(b) You get one penalty stroke and the ball must be replaced. 
(c) Your partner gets one penalty stroke and the ball must be replaced. 

CORRECT ANSWER: C 

Ah … the ever-important principle of choosing your partner wisely! You are responsible for the actions your partner takes in relation to your ball and vice versa. 

Here, your partner is on the hook for one penalty stroke because you accidentally lifted his or her ball. And of course, the ball must be replaced. As a bonus insight, the ball may be replaced by either you or your partner. 

You may have noted that your careful reading of Rule 9 didn’t say anything about your partner. That’s because Rules 1-20 are written without reference to partners or other forms of play, so when you see Four-Ball or any other form of play (including team competitions), you’ll need to take a look to Rules 21-24, which modify Rules 1-20 as needed for these other forms of play. 

问题:在四球赛中,你看到一个球位于普通区域,你认为是一个无人认领的球。你拿起那个球,然后意识到这是你伙伴的球。判决是什么? 

(a) 你和你的伙伴都没有处罚,球必须放回原位。 
(b) 你被罚一杆,球必须放回原位。 
(c) 你的伙伴被罚一杆,球必须放回原位。 

正确答案: C 

…… 永恒的重要原则:明智地选择你的合作伙伴!伙伴对你的球的所作所为由你负责,反之亦然。 

在这里,你的伙伴因为你不小心拿起了他或她的球而难逃被罚一杆。当然,球必须被放回原位顺便赠送一句,球可以由你或你的伙伴放置回去 

你可能已经注意到,你仔细阅读的规则9并没有说到你的伙伴。这是因为规则1-20的编写没有包含伙伴或其他形式的比赛,所以当你看到四球或任何其他比赛形式(包括团队比赛)时,你需要看看规则21-24,它们根据其他比赛形式的需要来修改规则1-20。 

Hole 6 

Question: In stroke play, you and your partner are walking together to your tee shots. As your partner is approaching his ball in the rough, he accidentally kicks and moves your ball a few inches. Believing that the requirement to replace the moved ball is like other relief procedures, you replace another ball on the estimated spot and make your next stroke. How many penalty strokes do you get, if any? 

(a) 0 
(b) 1 
(c) 2 
(d) 3 

CORRECT ANSWER: C 

Hole 6 starts off feeling very similar to Hole 5. You get one penalty stroke because your partner caused your ball to moved and you’re required to replace your ball (based on your actions on Hole 5, we’ll leave it to you two to determine if your partner’s actions were really an accident and whether it’s time to call truce…). 

When the Rules require the ball to be replaced on the original spot, the original ball must be used (Rule 14.2a). By using another ball when you could have easily used the original (the question makes it clear that it was right there), you’ve upgraded the one penalty stroke you would have received to the general penalty. 

Rule 1.3c(4) provides guidance on how the Rules work when there’s been multiple breaches. In this case, causing the ball to move is a procedural breach and using another ball is a substitution breach. In this situation, because you had two related breaches, you earned a quantity discount – congratulations! 

You only get two penalty strokes (the general penalty) in stroke play. You may have heard this referred to as 1+2=2 in the past and this fits into Rule 1.3c(4) under “Combined Procedural and Substitution/ Wrong Place Breaches.”  

 Hole 6 

问题:比杆赛中,你和你的伙伴一起走向你们第一杆的落点。当你的伙伴在长草里接近他的球时不小心踢到了你的球并使它移动了几英寸。因为相信放置回原位的执行程序跟其他补救程序相同,你用了另一球放置在估计的位置上,然后打了一杆。你被罚多少杆-如果有罚杆的话? 

(a) 0 
(b) 1 
(c) 2 
(d) 3 

正确答案C 

6号洞一开始的感觉和5号洞非常相似。你得到一杆罚杆,因为你的伙伴导致了你的球移动,你被要求将球放置回原位(根据你在5号洞的行为,我们且让你们两个来判断你伙伴的行为是否真的是意外,又或是现在先不管这个……)。 

当规则要求你将那个球(the ball)放置回原位时,必须使用原球(规则14.2a)。当你很轻易就可以使用原球(题目清楚地表明它就在那里),而你却使用了另一个球时,你就获得了升级:把本来只罚一杆的处罚升级到了一般性处罚。 

规则1.3c(4)规定了当出现多重违规时该如何运作规则的指导。在本题的案例下,导致球移动是程序违规,使用另一个球是替换违规。在这种情况下,因为你有两次相关的违规行为,所以你获得了数量上的折扣–恭喜你! 

在比杆赛中,你只被罚两杆(一般性处罚)。过去你可能听说过这被称为1+2=2,这也符合规则1.3c(4)下的 “程序违规和替换球/错误的地方违规的结合”。 

Hole 7 

Question: Before playing your approach shot from the general area, you decide to change clubs. You toss the club you were holding toward your golf bag, but the club strikes the bag and then strikes and moves your ball. What is the ruling? 

(a) There is no penalty and the ball must be replaced. 
(b) You get one penalty stroke and the ball must be replaced. 
(c) In stroke play, you get two penalty strokes and the ball must be replaced. 

CORRECT ANSWER: B 

On Hole 7 you’ll need to refer back to one of the key questions from the practice area –  what caused the ball to move? By tossing the club towards your ball, it was you that caused your ball to move. That earns you one penalty stroke and requires your ball to be replaced. 

Keep this in mind as you prepare to make the turn. It may seem simple now, but things can change quickly on the Back Nine.  

Hole 7 

问题:在从普通区域打攻果岭的一杆之前,你决定更换球杆。你将手中的球杆抛向你的高尔夫球包,球杆不但击中球包,之后还击中并移动了你的球。判定是什么? 

(a) 没有处罚,那个球必须放置回原位。 
(b) 你被罚一杆,那个球必须放置回原位。 
(c) 在比杆赛中,你被罚两杆,那个球必须放置回原位。 

正确答案 

在7号洞,你需要参考练习区的一个关键问题–是什么导致了球的移动?通过将球杆向你的球的方向抛,那就是你导致了你的球移动。这将使你被罚了一杆,并需要将你的球放回原位 

请记住这一点以便为你的转场做好准备这一点现在看来很简单,但在后九洞,事情可能会迅速改变。 

Hole 8 

Question: In match play, your opponent plays from a greenside bunker, and the ball comes to rest three feet from the hole and on your line of play. While your opponent is raking the bunker, you mark and lift his ball without authority. What is the ruling? 

(a) There is no penalty and the ball must be replaced. 
(b) You get one penalty stroke and the ball must be replaced. 
(c) You lose the hole. 

CORRECT ANSWER: B 

You’ve probably already caught on that there are a number of important differences in the Rules between match play and stroke play. This is based on Tufts first working principle (again referencing The Principles Behind the Rules of Golf), which states, “in match play, only you and your partner are involved, but in stroke play every competitor in the field has an interest in the results of your play.” This first part of this principle gives your opponent’s ball a special status and means you’ll want to take extra care when around it, and in most situations, you may not move or touch it. This is one of those cases, and because you didn’t have his or her authority to lift it, you’ll need to add one penalty stroke to your score. 

问题:在比洞赛中,你的对手从果岭边的沙坑打球,球停在离洞口三英尺的地方,正好在你的打球线上。当你的对手还在沙坑中耙沙时,你在没有获得授权的情况下擅自标记并拿起了他的球。判决是什么? 

(a) 没有处罚,那个球必须放置回原位。 
(b) 你被罚一杆,那个球必须放置回原位。 
(c) 你输了这洞。 

正确答案B 

你可能已经明白,比杆赛和比洞赛在规则上有很多重要的区别。这是基于塔夫茨的第一个运作原则(再次参考《高尔夫规则背后的原则》),其中指出:”在比洞赛中,只有你和你的伙伴参与其中,但在比杆赛中,你的成绩与场上每一位比赛者都有着利益关系。” 这个原则的第一部分赋予你对手的球一个特殊的地位,意味着你在它周围时要格外小心,在大多数情况下,你不能移动或触摸它。这(道题)就是其中的一种情况,由于你没有他或她的授权去拿起它,你需要在你的成绩上加上一杆罚杆。 

Hole 9 

Question: True or False: During your backswing for a stroke from the fairway, your ball starts to move, but you continue your swing and make the stroke. If you make your next stroke from where the ball came to rest after playing the moving ball, instead of replaying the stroke, you get the general penalty for playing from a wrong place.  

(a) True 
(b) False 

CORRECT ANSWER: B 

The Rules recognize that this great game creates an uncountable number of unexpected occurrences and Hole 9 serves as a just one example. You’ve learned repeatedly over the first 8 holes that a ball that is moved is always replaced. Here though on the 9th hole, your ball moves after you begin your backswing and you continue on and complete making your stroke. 

This is a rare exception where there’s no requirement to replace the ball because it can all happens so quickly – thus the Rules don’t require the ball to be replaced (this situation even allows you to play a moving ball without penalty!). 

Because there’s no requirement to replace, you haven’t played from a wrong place (also, while the question doesn’t ask this of you … you’ll know you are prepared for the challenge coming on the back nine if you know whether or not you get a penalty stroke if you had caused that movement).  

问题: 正确与错误 : 在你从球道击球,在上杆过程中,你的球开始移动,但是你继续你的挥杆并进行了击球。你在打完这个移动中球后,如果从球静止的地方进行下一次击球,而不是重新进行这次击球,你会因为从错误的地方击球而受到一般性处罚。 

(a) 正确 
(b) 错误 

 正确答案B 

规则》认识到这项伟大的游戏会产生难以计数的意外情况,第9洞只是一个例子。在前8个洞中,你已经反复学习过,被移动的球总是要放回原位。但在第9洞,你的球在你开始上杆之后才移动的,而你继续(挥杆)并完成了你的击球。 

这是一个罕见的例外,此处并没有要求放回原位,因为这一切往往发生得太快了–因此规则不要求这个球被放回原位(这种情况下甚至允许你打一个移动中球而不受罚!)。 

因为没有放回原位的要求,所以你没有从错误的地方打球(另外,虽然问题没有问你……但如果你知道 —— 假如是你导致了那个球的移动你会不会被罚杆的话,你已经为后九的挑战做好准备了)。